Shades Of Temptation by Virna DePaul (Shades #2)

Available: Now Amazon/B&N

Type: Romantic Suspense

Publisher: HQN

My Copy: NetGalley

Carrie Ward understands dangerous men, and she’s got the scars to prove it. These days, the Special Investigations Group detective saves her risk taking for the job. But when she’s asked to pursue a high-profile serial killer, she’ll have to join forces with the last man she wants to depend on—Jase Tyler, an ace senior detective who’s as reckless as she is cautious. And despite her best intentions, the sparks begin to fly.As Carrie and Jase race to try to save the next victim, the passion that simmers between them ignites. But a cunning killer at the top of his game is challenging carrie to play to the very end. Now all she can count on are her instincts—and Jase, the one man daring enough to keep her safe….

.

Virna DePaul once again takes her readers on a journey into the workplace of a group of elite cops known as SIG. Shades of Temptation gave me a strong female lead character, which I happen to love. Carrie is a woman who doesn’t accept help easily. She’s been on the mend from a recent shooting and though she has been cleared to return, she wars with her own mental capabilities. She has panic attacks and nightmares and coming back to the job seems to be making them worse. To cope she tries to hide behind the new case she’s been given. A high profile serial killer case that she is forced to work on with Jace, a man she craves but refuses to let herself have. She doesn’t trust him and though he tries, he doesn’t believe a woman can possibility do the job better than a man. The old school way of his thinking did rub me the wrong way at times and I could understand why Carrie felt the need to stand her ground and show him up whenever possible. She was out to prove her abilities just as much as she wanted to save the potential victims of the killer.

I wish we would have gotten more from the killers prospective. I like to be able to get into their heads a little bit more than this one gave me the opportunity for. I did enjoy the fast pacing and all the action included in this one. Book one seemed to drag a bit in the middle for me but I’m happy to say I didn’t find that issue in this one at all. Jace and Carrie ignited the page. I found myself wanting them to be together more than they were. They worked off each other so well and the sexual tension was so well wrote that when they were apart I missed their interactions. I also enjoyed how the characters from Shades of Desire played small roles in this one but were mostly from a secondary source. Meaning they were there but you didn’t hear much from them. There wasn’t a ton of one on one interaction with the current characters.

I enjoyed Carries internal struggles. That sounds harsh lol. I thought the way in which her insecurities manifested themselves (panic attacks, nightmares) was completely correct and it made her story more believable. Too often you red cop romances where the cops have to kill someone and don’t feel an ounce of remorse at taking a human life…no matter how justified. DePaul does an excellent job at bringing the true emotions to light. Jace with his cocky attitude was just what Carrie needed to shake herself free from her set backs. I love a man with a big gun…and Jace…yeah he carries his big gun well. Total alpha. Total badass. His conflicting emotions for Carrie and his own desire to head the case and keep her safe played well throughout the book. I can appreciate a man wanting to keep a woman safe…but I LOVE it when the woman can keep herself safe, insecurities be damned!

I enjoyed Shades of Temptation by Virna DePaul! I give it 4 stars! 

One thought on “Shades Of Temptation by Virna DePaul (Shades #2)

Leave a Reply

