Rough Tumble by Keri Ford (The Roughnecks #3)

Available: Now Amazon/B&N

Type: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Turquoise Morning Press

My Copy: Sent

Reviewer: Nikki

Having her fiancé admit through email that he married another girl while away was humiliating enough. Telling the small town the truth was something Tonya just couldn’t face yet. With him in the military, it seemed easy to let everyone think they were still together. Just for a little while. Fast-forward through time a few months and Tonya’s restless, lonely, and unsure how to fix her lie. To add to that, she’s finding her best friend, Trent Iverson, more and more attractive.

When Tonya confesses the truth, Trent feels like his life is finally on the right path. Everything is smooth sailing until old fears that makes him controlling surface. He has to face the mirror and see his controlling ways if he wants to keep Tonya.

.

This review is not really a review…it’s more like me just gushing over Keri Ford and you all just humoring the crazy reviewer. I absolutely adore her writing and Rough Tumble was no exception. I have been eagerly awaiting Trent and Tonya because both of them presented this unbreachable facade I knew was simply hiding hearts that were afraid to feel.

Tonya’s ego was bruised after her wayward fiance broke up with her over email and she’s since told the entire town he’s simply still overseas. Why tell the whole town how much she was hurting? Admit her defeat? Her lies have taken on a life of their own and now that she is ready to move on…she can’t. She can’t burst the bubble of her small town and admit her own mistakes.

While I enjoyed Tonya’s fun but private personality I think the person that made this book was Trent. He’s such a jerk that he was endearing. His inability to not be in charge really scared him and he reacted by being overbearing and slightly full of himself. He was so used to being the one to take care of his brothers that he attempted to treat Tonya the same way. Poor Tonya was left shaking her head many times as she fought to figure out his bizarre need to be so controlling. There were times he was borderline for me, but in the end I truly enjoyed what he brought to the book, and Tonya’s life.

Tonya’s friends from past books make appearances as well and I always enjoy looking into their lives and finding out what happens after their happily ever afters. The feeling of family and loyalty always play a central theme throughout every Keri Ford book and it certainly plays on the small town feel. The town of Apple Trail truly cares about each other, even the nosy residents Tonya may want to strangle for being in her business constantly.

As I say goodbye to yet another amazing series from Keri Ford, I find myself hoping that her next book will be full length. Her writing calls to me and once I start a book of hers, I become entranced by it. Each book gives readers heartfelt characters, southern charm, quirkiness and a love for small town living. I can’t get enough of Keri’s writing and I just don’t want to.

I give Rough Tumble by Keri Ford 4.50 stars!

One thought on “Rough Tumble by Keri Ford (The Roughnecks #3)

Leave a Reply

