The Spanish Billionaire’s Hired Bride by Rachel Lyndhurst

Available: Now Amazon/B&N

Type: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Entangled Publishing

My Copy: Sent

Reviewer: Nikki

He bought her with cold, hard cash, but can she stop him from stealing her heart?

Blackmailed to marry against his will, Ricardo Almanza needs a wife before he’s thirty, and time is running out. A notorious playboy, marriage is the last thing he wants, but his stepmother’s sexy, debt-ridden personal assistant is the perfect solution. He makes her a business deal she can’t refuse—one million euros for three months as his wife. He might even enjoy being married to her … if she doesn’t kick the crap out of him again.

Helen Marshall can’t believe she’s considering Almanza’s outrageous proposal, but she must help clear her parents’ debts or they face financial ruin. The small print on the marriage contract changes to read three months as his wife in every way—including in the bedroom. Has she gotten in too deep, or will she need a new contract addendum, extending their marriage forever?

.

After I finished reading this book I was slightly at odds with myself. I found it to be an enjoyable read but I wasn’t attached to either character in the end, making it hard to write a review. When I love a book I want to sing to the heavens and tell everyone about it. When I hate the book….well I want to tell everyone about it heh.

I found both characters of Helen and Ricardo to be very strong willed. Ricardo being used to people doing what he wants simply because of who he is and Helen having to constantly stand up for her family and requiring a backbone of steel to do so. When Helen takes a job in the Almanza household she never thought she’d be accused of stealing and get a marriage proposal in one night…let alone from the same man. Ricardo needs to settle an old debt and to do so he needs a bride. Helen provides him with exactly what he needs and the money he offers in exchange could finally free her family from the financial burdens they have been facing.

I liked both characters and I thought the story line was well wrote…I just didn’t connect with either character. The majority of the time  Ricardo came off as a huge ass. His money and stature made for a huge ego that took a lot of time to deflate. Lyndhurst did an excellent job at the ass part but I thought he played that card a little too long and when he finally did thaw out it felt a bit rushed. I never did quite understand what Helen saw in the man. You know, other then the body…..the accent….and the loads and loads of money.

The financial woes Helen’s family faced were in a round about way tied to Ricardo himself, or well, his company. A land developer company that was trying to buy the farm out from under them to develop new buildings was headed by a common foe. Helen of course, jumps to the conclusion that Ricardo has been behind it all and was simply seducing her for fun. Though Ricardo comes to his own sudden conclusions as well so both are to blame there.

I think there was a missed opportunity with Ricardo’s nemesis. There is much buildup to his part in the book and then nothing really comes from it. I would have thought that including him, perhaps in a slight suspense-esqe twist, it would have bonded the two characters faster and unthawed Ricardo a bit better. Lyndhurst does try to soften him by throwing him into a selfless act…but I didn’t think it was enough to win me completely over in the span of time I was given.

The Spanish Billionaire’s Hired Bride reminded me of the romance books I started out with…those short, happily ever afters that my grandma used to get in the mail monthly. Rachel Lyndhurst is definitely an author whom I will read again. Her writing was strong and though I didn’t particularly love it, I think readers that like short, sensual reads, will likely enjoy it.

 

I give The Spanish Billionaire’s Hired Bride by Rachel Lyndhurst 3 stars!

One thought on “The Spanish Billionaire’s Hired Bride by Rachel Lyndhurst

Leave a Reply

