Scorched by Laura Griffin (Tracers #6)

Available: Now Amazon/B&N

Type: Romantic Suspense

Publisher: Pocket

My Copy: NetGalley

Reviewer: Nikki

Kelsey Quinn set out to trace a murder victim. Now she may become one. The dead don’t speak, but Kelsey knows their secrets. As a forensic anthropologist at the Delphi Center crime lab, Kelsey makes it her mission to identify bodies using no more than shards of bone, and her find at a remote Philippines dig hints at a sinister story. When Kelsey’s search for answers puts her at the scene of her exfiancé’s murder, only one man can help her. The same man who broke her heart just months before, and who is also a prime suspect. Faced with an ultimatum— Kelsey or his job—Gage Brewer did the only thing a Navy SEAL could . . . but that doesn’t mean he stopped wanting Kelsey. Now Kelsey is running for her life and Gage is her last line of defense. As the threats escalate, Kelsey realizes this conspiracy goes deeper and higher than they could have guessed. With the clock ticking down on a madman’s plot, the slightest misstep will have unthinkable consequences. . . .

.

Laura Griffin in an excellent romantic suspense author who has always been able to pull me in with her incredible story telling and well wrote characters. I found Scorched to have two characters that I instantly liked but the story failed to entice me and I found myself bored quickly.

Kelsey and Gage have a tumultuous past together that ended with Kelsey running into the arms of another man when Gage left her behind for his Seal team.  Though Gage loved her, the ultimatum she gave him left him no choice in his mind but to leave her behind. Throwing herself into her work as a forensic anthropologist she attempted to move on and wound up with yet another ex boyfriend. When she witnesses a murder that has something to do with her findings she runs right into the arms of Gage, though not willingly.

Gage is the FBI’s suspect number one especially when he disappears to find Kelsey and ensure her safety. As the story starts unraveling and corruption in the FBI becomes evident neither Gage nor Kelsey know who they can trust. Time is running out and the evil is catching up but how deep does it go and can Kelsey and Gage finally come to terms with their past?

As a couple I liked Kelsey and Gage. They were well matched for each other with her smarts and his skill as a Seal. We all know how I feel about military alphaness…Rawrrrrrr! Their evolving relationship from together, not together, kinda together and finally back together felt realistic and their problems common. Well, as common as you get when the FBI is on your tail, dead bodies lay in your wake and a terrorist plot you uncovered has everyone gunning for you. I often wonder how many relationships are doomed from the start because a woman gives her military man an ultimatum. These special forces guys are apart of something that us everyday people can’t comprehend and to try to make them give it up, even for the love of their life, is just something they can’t do. These guys are loyal to a fault which is admiral, if not worrisome for those left at home. That loyalty though is exactly what Kelsey needs to help her uncover the truth behind her ex-fiance’s murder.

While I enjoyed the romance and action I felt the book was long winded and I found myself skimming the in-between pages. I was bored with the terrorist plot and the side story of the extremely green new agent and her need to prove herself to her boss. There are sure to be tons of readers who disagree with me and I myself may go back to this one day and find it completely different. While reading this I was suffering from a reading slump and so that probably weighs heavily on my ability to stay focused while reading. Or it may have been that this would have simply been more suited for novella length. Whatever the reason, I can’t say I loved this one. I loved aspects of it, but in it’s entirety it failed to entertain me.

I give Scorched by Laura Griffin 3 stars! 

One thought on “Scorched by Laura Griffin (Tracers #6)

Leave a Reply

