Lord’s Fall by Thea Harrison (Elder Races #5)

Available: Now Amazon/B&N

Type: Paranormal Romance

Publisher: Berkley

My Copy: NetGalley

Reviewer: Nikki

In the latest Novel of the Elder Races, two mates find themselves on different paths, torn between their duty to the Wyr and the passion that binds them… Before she met Dragos, half-human/half-Wyr Pia Giovanni was alone and on the run. Now she’s mated, pregnant and heading south to repair the Wyrs’ frayed relationship with the Elves. Being separated from Dragos is painful, but for the good of the Wyr demesne they need to figure out how to be partners—in more places than just the bedroom. In New York to preside over the Sentinel Games, Dragos is worried about his mate, but knows that finding two replacement sentinels is essential to show the rest of the Elder Races just how strong and brutal the Wyr demesne can be. But as the Games heat up, Pia’s negotiations with the Elves take a turn for the dangerous, straining her bond with Dragos and threatening everything they hold dear…

.

Lord’s Fall is Thea Harrison’s fifth book in her paranormal romance series, The Elder Races. I started reading this series when book one,  Dragon Bound, introduced me to this lush world full of inventive characters and promising story lines to come. Dragos is the “older then dirt” hero who has always been used to people fearing him and just doing like he asks of them…the first time. When he mated with Pia he got more of an equal then he realized. As the series has progressed he has learned how to be more human though his animal side is still extremely prevalent especially when it comes to his mate.

Lord’s Fall finds Pia making a trip deep into Elven territory in hopes of repairing a rift Dragos caused when he broke a long standing treaty with the nation. In an effort to bring the two nations back together she goes, along with an elite group of guards, to speak with the head of the Elves. Of course a third party is also intent on speaking with the head of the Elves but for the intent of starting a war that once started will end in bloodshed from everyone.

Pia’s shifter heritage is kept secret from the masses and that causes her to be an outcast among them. Coupled with her pregnancy and over protective mate she craves friends and social interaction. I felt bad for her but Eva (her new bodyguard) and her sparred well verbally and gave her the outlet she’d been craving. In fact I enjoyed this new team of warriors and hope we see them again in future works. It was a break from the characters I’ve already come to love.

I found Lord’s Fall to be slightly slow and pretty wordy. I wanted to care but sometimes it felt like it was rambling along with no purpose. I only became interested when action would ensue or Dragos and Pia were together. I felt all the constant back story of the Elves was overdone. I found myself skimming those times in search of the good stuff. Harrison took a chance going back to the original main characters this far into the series but overall I thought it was well done in the character growth department.

While past characters, and some promising new ones ( A PEGASUS, HELLO!!) make appearances I was disappointed one of my favorites didn’t. Tiago was only mentioned in passing and that really bummed me out. I loved him in book two and was surprised that he wouldn’t have been present, if only to see the games that would result in his now vacated spot as one of Dragos’ seven warriors. Rune was there and even played a small part in the climactic ending…..so why no Tiago Thea??? WHY?? I’m not bitter.

The Elder Races series will always hold a special place in my heart. Dragos would be alpha to other alphas. He’s in your face, charismatic and just made of alluring awesomeness! No wonder Pia loves him, because part of me does too. I will definitely keep reading this series!

I give Lord’s Fall by Thea Harrison 3.75 stars! 

Leave a Reply

