Reflected In You by Sylvia Day (Crossfire #2)

Available: Now Amazon/B&N

Type: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Berkley

My Copy: Sent

Reviewer: Nikki

Gideon Cross. As beautiful and flawless on the outside as he was damaged and tormented on the inside. He was a bright, scorching flame that singed me with the darkest of pleasures. I couldn’t stay away. I didn’t want to. He was my addiction… my every desire… mine.

My past was as violent as his, and I was just as broken. We’d never work. It was too hard, too painful… except when it was perfect. Those moments when the driving hunger and desperate love were the most exquisite insanity. We were bound by our need. And our passion would take us beyond our limits to the sweetest, sharpest edge of obsession…

I read reviews after reading this book which I never ever do. Ok I really didn’t so much as “read” reviews as read the first sentence of a bunch of reviews on Goodreads. Overall this book is getting high marks but there are some who don’t connect with the characters and have written the series off. That’s okay and I get it. Normally the tables are turned and if a book is a sensation and all my friends loved it I will inevitably end up hating it. Maybe because of the pressure to love it at that point or maybe because I’m a strange reader.

In book one, Bared To You, we were introduced to the filthy rich Gideon Cross and the complex Eva Trammell. Both were scarred from  hideous pasts that had shaped them into who they are today. Gideon is 100% alpha male whose obsession with Eva skirts the line of psychotic and extremely troubling. Though she challenges him at every turn, I was often torn between emotions. There were times I wanted her to tell him exactly what she thought of his high-handed ways and other times I cussed her out for acting like such a selfish child.

By the time I got my hands on book two it had been months and months since I had read Bared To You. *Shaking fists to heaven* But it afforded me the ability to take a step back and breathe through the emotionally damaged roller coaster that is these two people’s relationship. It’s a fast ride too because by the end of book one they’d only been dating for a few weeks and yet they are in couples therapy. *Snort* Seeing as though they each have a entire airports worth of baggage, probably a good idea but really? Can you see any flesh and blood man agreeing to go to therapy after a few weeks of dating? Yeah. Me either.

Reflected In You wrung me out. I was exhausted by the end of it. The push of Gideon’s will against the stands Eva takes on her privacy were a constant source of friction. Gideon harbors secrets that he refuses to tell Eva and of course creates animosity and resentment in her. I was amazed at myself while reading. Normally Gideon’s behavior would appall me.  He is controlling, smothering and his word is law. Sylvia Day has written a character I should hate but his depth, his expressive nature and ok…the sex…the dirty dirty sex…had me and Eva both coming back for the punishment of his nature.  Gideon is seriously flawed and Eva’s presence in his life is basically the only thing keeping him from going on a downward hate spiral. Healthy? Nope but seriously romantic. I’m so twisted. I want to be the only source of comfort in someone’s life, lol. Without me they just can’t go on. They’d do ANYTHING to keep me. *Sigh*. Yeah.

Eva is just as damaged as Gideon. Her self loathing, fear of betrayal and complete lack of trust in Gideon (even though I can say things stack up against him quickly and look really bad) make a hard relationship even harder. She behaves like most women in crazy relationships and for that I can’t fault her. Most women want, at one time or another, to make their man just a bit jealous. There is a line though and she does cross it. Again I felt torn with her character. Her behavior can come across childish and selfish but at least her heart was in the right place and when push comes to shove she stands up for Gideon against everyone who has done him wrong. I had to cheer her on for that.

I did see a few things coming regarding the ending of Reflected In You. I wish I could say I was surprised, but I really wasn’t. I can say that what did surprise me was the complexity of the ending. It was very Ocean’s Eleven. The believability from the detectives was a bit over the top because they would never act the way they did, but having said that, it was well wrote. I spent a good chunk of the book thinking Gideon was a complete tool, sexy as all hell but still a tool. By the end I understood and I may have swooned just a little.

Reflected In You is an amazing sequel to Bared To You! I adored it! It broke me out of a book slump I had been suffering with for weeks and for that I am grateful.

Dark and compelling, I give Reflected In You by Sylvia Day 5 stars! 

One thought on “Reflected In You by Sylvia Day (Crossfire #2)

Leave a Reply

