Provoked by Rebecca Zanetti (Dark Protectors #5)

 

Available: Now Amazon/B&N

Type: Paranormal Romance

Publisher: Kensington

My Copy: NetGalley

A TIME FOR WAR…
A casualty of the war between the demons and the vampires, Jase Kayrs has been missing for six long years. His older brothers want answers—but they’re going to have to get them from an unlikely source. For when Kane Kayrs tracks down Amber Freebird, what he finds is a blonde, vegan pacifist who has no intention of using her skills in his war…

A TIME FOR LOVE…

Amber enjoys her life of chaotic freedom and has no intention of falling in line just because a sexy-as-sin vampire insists on order. Unfortunately, he discovers she may be the only hope they have of finding his brother, and there’s no way he’s going to let her go—even if it means mating her to gain her cooperation. The two are as different as can be, yet when the dominant Kane and the untamed Amber finally unite to rescue Jase, they just may find that opposites really do attract…

.

I have been a fan of Rebecca’s work for quite some time. I actually received an ARC of book one, Fated, way back when and from that moment on I’ve been hooked. As with any series there is going to be ups and downs, as was the case with the last book that I just couldn’t get into. Going into this one I was leery because I had problems with book four and it really upset me. Nothing sucks more then not connecting with a character in a series you adore. So going into this one I wanted so much to get back to my original feelings on the series. I’m happy to report that I totally did!

Kane is the brainy brother of the Kayrs family and mostly prefers to stay on the sidelines and work in his labs. His wicked smarts, diligence and brutal fighting ability make him a fierce competitor but his guilt weighs heavily on shoulders. He’s a typical alpha male. He takes everything to heart and thinks everyone is his responsibility. The capture of their brother Jase weighs on them all but Kane the worst. At least in his eyes. His sole mission is to get him back at all costs. Now he has a lead on his whereabouts and the only thing standing in his way is one lone female who has no idea of the power she wields.

Amber is everything Kane is not. She’s free and untamed and completely untapped in the power department. She balks at the very notion of anything paranormal, especially faced with the reality that she isn’t completely normal herself. Watching her come to terms with her unusual demon hunting ability was awesome. I loved how her reactions to everything were what I would consider normal. None of that “I’m a demon hunter? Ok, let’s go kick some butt…” stuff. She had reservations that any normal person would have when put in such a weird position. Especially her because she was a complete pacifist and animal lover. Pairing her with a scientist was a classic case of opposites attract. I loved how Kane was both the brains and the brawn even if he was a bit stunted in the feelings department. Alphas generally are anyway.

I enjoyed all the other Kayrs brothers in Provoked and thought Zanetti did an excellent job solidifying their brotherhood. I’m really starting to get impatient for Janie’s story though I know that will be the last book. The precocious child has grown into a lovely young woman as the books have progressed. Her part in the ending of the war is still yet to be determined but as she’s grown so have the two young men who will ultimately fight for her in the final good vs. evil battle royale. Of course I think we have at least one more book before that happens because poor Jase needs a happy ending (snort) too. After being a prisoner of war for years and having his mental capacity tested continually, his fractured spirit needs some healing.

At the end of book four I was sad because I didn’t connect. At the end of Provoked I was still sad but only because it ended and I wasn’t ready for that yet. Rebecca Zanetti will engage and delight readers again and again with her emotionally connected characters and all encompassing story arcs!

I give Provoked by Rebecca Zanetti 4 stars! 

2 thoughts on “Provoked by Rebecca Zanetti (Dark Protectors #5)

Leave a Reply

