The Prince by Tiffany Reisz (The Original Sinners #3)

Available: November 20, 2012 Amazon/B&N

Type: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Harlequin

My Copy: Sent

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer…preferably in bed. That’s always been Kingsley Edge’s strategy with his associate, the notorious New York dominatrix Nora Sutherlin. But with Nora away in Kentucky, now it’s Kingsley’s chance to take her place at the feet of the only man he’s ever wanted — Søren, Nora’s on-again, off-again lover — until a new threat from an old enemy forces him to confront his past.

Wes Railey is still the object of Nora’s tamest yet most maddening fantasies, and the one man she can’t forget. He’s young. He’s wonderful. He’s also thoroughbred royalty and she’s in “his” world now. But Nora is no simpering Southern belle, and her dream of fitting into Wesley’s world is perpetually at odds with her dear Søren’s relentlessly seductive pull.

Two worlds of wealth and passion call to her and whichever one Nora chooses, it will be the hardest decision she will ever have to make… unless someone makes it for her….

.

I don’t know where to start this review. I’ve put it off and tried to figure out how I felt about it for over a week. I’m still conflicted. My emotions about this book are all over the place and attempting to break it down for this review is seriously stumping me. While I did like it I have to admit to it being my least favorite out of the three books so far.

The Prince is a lot of looking back, which is essential to understanding the relationships and how they evolved  between Soren and Kingsley but I felt it dragged the book along bit. Their relationship started at school many years ago and is both complex, heartfelt and maybe just a bit stalkerish on Kings part. Because King? Damn he is downright OBSESSED with Soren. To the point where he will take any scrap of attention Soren may throw his way. The heat was certainly there and while some readers may find the sex graphic and disturbing, especially the first time, I thought it fit both their personalities well.  You see a completely different side to King, one that wars with who he has presented himself to be up until this point. Reisz can definitely write a strong M/M relationship but my personal reactions are what stumps me. I love Soren. I love King. As individuals. I’m just not sure them together works for me. I can’t seem to reconcile Kings drastic personality change with his role in the book. I also felt annoyed at Soren for the majority of the book because he completely strings King along seemingly without regard to the other mans emotions and motives. Plus I really enjoy Kings girl toy/assistant and she’s not in this one at all. Having sent her back to her homeland for her own safety since it’s apparent someone is out to hurt King, Soren and Nora. What confused me was why he sent her there since it’s made clear the island isn’t that big and what might await her there is a ghost from her own past that left her bruised and broken. He’s filthy stinking rich, why not send her somewhere safe from her own demons?

The Wes and Nora flirting finally comes to a head in this one and I must say, I wasn’t feeling it like I thought I would. Nora has been given permission from Soren to spend some time away with Wes at his family compound in the heart of horse racing country. Though she thinks it’s his way of giving her a present, in reality it’s because whoever is threatening them has been slowly closing in. Greeted by animosity from the patriarch of the family Wes and Nora try to stay undercover as they explore the heat that flares between them. Nora craves the normalcy that Wes provides, but I just don’t see them together. Nora isn’t truly happy in either mans arms and I think as the series progresses she is going to have to hit rock bottom before what she truly needs/wants is revealed to her. I want Wes to be happy at the end of this, and I don’t think that will be with Nora. I do think that his relationship with Nora will help open his eyes to what he really want out of life and set him in the right direction to achieve that.

What Reisz excels at is making everything come together seamlessly. Just when you think you know what’s going on something happens that makes you go “Oh yeah, well that makes sense!” The writing is richly detailed and all-encompassing. It will pull you in and before you know it your kids are starving, the house is dirty and you’re wondering how long it’s been since you moved off the ass-dent you’ve create in your chair. The emotionally charged scenes mixed with the taboo sexual couplings consistently leave me wanting to crawl inside the book like a naughty voyeur and watch shamelessly from the sidelines.

Ending with a MASSIVE cliffhanger and no release in sight for book four The Prince will leave you craving more and wanting answers…NOOOOOW! I literally re-read the last page 10 times hoping that at some point another chapter would magically appear and make me not what to scream in frustration while shaking my fists to the heavens. Decadently dark, erotic and wonderfully suspenseful!

I give The Prince by Tiffany Reisz 4 stars! 

Leave a Reply

