G.J. Koch – Author Interview & GIVEAWAY!

Today let’s welcome back Gini Koch! Wait, oops, sorry Gini isn’t here. Instead let’s welcome for the first time, G.J. Koch! Hi G.J.!!! I have just finished reading Alexander Outland (look for my review soon) and I want to talk to you a bit and get your thoughts for the readers out there that may not know a lot about your work. Let’s go ahead and get right to it then….

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and your alter ego G..J. Koch

Well, I’m an author with a LOT of voices in my head. Some of those manifest as characters. Others, however, manifest as the creators of said characters, and those voices become my pen names. (Hey, it’s a controlled form of schizophrenia; I make it work for me.)

As Gini Koch I write fast, fresh and funny science fiction with a lot of romance, action and humor, which includes the Alien/Katherine “Kitty” Katt series for DAW Books/Penguin and the Martian Alliance Chronicles for Musa Publishing (http://www.musapublishing.com/).

As G.J. Koch, I write humorous, action-oriented science fiction for Night Shade Books. (I know! What were the odds?) Not the hard stuff, though. Because that requires actual scientific knowledge or at least actual scientific research. Knowledge may be power and research may be cool, but they take time away from writing jokes, action, and romance, and being witty in the face of death is what it’s really all about.

2. Alexander Outland is your new book, tell us a bit about it?

Trouble’s brewing out in space, and Alexander Outland — the least likely hero in the galaxy — and his eccentric crew have to save the day, despite the fact they’d prefer to take the money and run.

Alexander Napoleon Outland is the best pilot, and ladies’ man, in the galaxy. But Nap, as his friends call him, is more than that — he’s a schemer with a heart of gold he desperately wants to hide, a soft spot for other people’s cargo and his exotic weapon’s chief, and the unerring ability to find the biggest misfit on any planet or space station and somehow join that person onto his crew.

Nap’s not your classic hero, but that tends to make him the right guy for the job…whatever the job happens to be.

3. What makes this different then what we’ve seen from Gini?

It’s funnier than my Alien/Katherine “Kitty” Katt series.

I’ll let that one sink in for a moment.

But truly, it is. There are other differences, too. It’s set in the far future, not present day, and the sex is toned down (though the romance is not and the sexual innuendo and flat-out begging and propositioning is higher). There’s no connection between the two series at all, other than they’re both set in the Milky Way Galaxy, both have a lot of action going along with the science fiction, romance, and humor, and are both written by moi.

Nap has the same kind of smart mouth as Kitty does, though. So if you like or love her, you’re gonna love The Outland, too. (Nap asked me to say that if you don’t like Kitty, you’ll like him anyway.)

4. Are you currently working on anything else?

Girl, I am ALWAYS working on something else. LOL As I write this answer I’m working on the second installment in my Martian Alliance series for Musa Publishing, “Three Card Monte”, as well as Book 7 of my Alien series for DAW Books, Alien in the House, and, of course, the next volume of the Outland series, Alexander Outland: Space Avenger.

5. You are always writing or attending conventions, do you get any downtime? What hobbies do you have?

What is this “downtime” of which you speak? LOL Honestly, no, I don’t get much. Before I was a full time author, I never used to watch television. Now I actually allow myself the little bit of downtime, mostly because I love “Castle”. DVRs are the greatest gift to a busy author, though, because there is no longer any such thing as appointment TV, which means I can make my deadlines and then catch up on the few shows I really like.

My hobby used to be writing. That turned into far more than a hobby. I don’t think I really have any hobbies now, though the hubs would say that avoiding housework is my current hobby. And he wouldn’t be wrong.

6. What are your daily motivations to write?

My deadlines and the voices in my head.

Really, those are it. Before I had deadlines, the voices were all I needed, because they were the characters, telling me their stories and motivating me to help tell them the “right way”. Now, I have both the carrot (the story ideas) and the whip (the deadlines) and they keep me going.

7. If you could meet one person fictional or real, who would you want to meet?

I’ve gotten this question before, and it’s one I think everyone considers at least once in their life. I find it hard to narrow this one down, because there are so many…Albert Einstein, Abraham Lincoln, Robert Benchley, P.J. O’Rourke, Marilyn Monroe, Sherlock Holmes, Richard Castle, Nathan Fillion, Ben Affleck, Chris Evans, Billy Zane…(note how quickly we went from the life-changing folks to the hotties? Yeah, I’m a simple creature, me.)

Oh, who am I kidding? I want to meet Captain Malcolm Reynolds from “Firefly” and “Serenity” fame.

8. The success of your Kitty Katt series sets the bar high, where do you want to be in 5 years?

You know, so many authors are so demure about this, I probably ought to be, too. But I’m not. Total World Book Domination. That’s my goal. The Alien and Outland series’ on every bookshelf, my ebook series’ on every e-reader. And more besides.

That said, to achieve this lofty goal takes time, drive, and staying power, which I truly hope I have.

The people who make the decisions for how well you do, though, are the readers, the fans, so it’s really up to them for how well an author does. Sales matter, pre-orders matter, whether you hit a bestseller list matters, and so on. It’s a tough business in some ways, but I love it. And most of all, I love my fans. My fans are the best fans in the world (I may be biased, but I’m not wrong, either), and they’ve helped me to get where I am today (wherever that may actually be in the great pantheon of the literary world) and will be the ones who help me the rest of the way, so to them I say, “Thank you, and please do your girl a solid and pre-order Alexander Outland: Space Pirate. I promise you won’t regret the decision.”

.

.

PREORDER: Amazon/B&N

Captain Alexander Outland of the Sixty-Nine (short for Space Vessel 3369, of course) is the best pilot in the galaxy. He’s also a pirate, a smuggler, and loved and loathed by women in umpteen solar systems. His crew of strays and misfits includes an engineer of dubious sanity, a deposed planetary governor, an annoyingly unflappable Sexbot copilot, and a slinky weapons chief who stubbornly refuses to give the captain a tumble.

Outland just wants to make a decent living skirting the law, but when an invisible space armada starts cutting into his business, he soon finds himself in hot water with the military, the mob, mad bombers, and an extended family of would-be conquerors. And that’s not counting an occasionally telepathic spy . . . .

Like any sensible scoundrel, he hates heroics. They’re risky and they don’t pay well. But to keep his ship and crew in one piece, and make time with a certain hard-to-get weapons chief, he might just have to make an exception–and save the galaxy in spite of himself!

.

.

.

Thanks for stopping by today! You (and all your alternate personalities, lol) are always welcome to swing by and chat!! 

.

UPDATE: 5/24/12 – GJ is going to have a giveaway here on the blog! YAY! I will leave this open until 5/31/12 at 11:59pm EST. The winner will receive a copy of Alexander Ouland: Space Pirate! US winners can choose between a physical paperback or a e-copy and international residents will receive a e-copy only. Comment to enter :) 

24 thoughts on “G.J. Koch – Author Interview & GIVEAWAY!

  1. Ooh… great to learn about your new personal, GJ! This sounds VERY cool! Do you decide up front which penname a story is going to be for, and write from there? Or do the characters or the story sometimes pull a fast one on you midstream? :)

    f dot chen at comcast dot net

    • It depends, honestly. Sometimes I just write and then figure out “who’s writing” the piece. Usually these days, though, I’m writing from a specific name because I’m under contract for a story from that name. And the characters and stories ALWAYS pull fast ones on me — I’m an extreme linear writer, so that happens a lot. (I think it makes the books better. :-D)

  2. Yay!!! love the interview. I laughed at question number six. I think when I am school and need to write a final essay for a class that is what makes me push to write also. It is amazing what deadlines and the voices in your head make you write. :)

  3. I will admit i was one of a number lucky enough to have read and this book is good, and yes main character is mix of The Stainless Steel Rat plus other like characters including han solo, and even Christopher Anvil’s Interstellar patrol. In short take an off the wall character and crew and drop them into insanity and watch and laugh and Alexander Outland ill be staring out with look of hope and frustration with your laughter. Its more fun to let one read then even try to describe. The origin of the co-pilot is funny and makes one instantly wonder where the head of the engineer is at.

  4. Have just discovered the Kitty Katt series and am looking forward to this one as well. Love humor in books as it makes reading even more enjoyable. Thanks for the chance to win one.

  5. Gini, I’m looking forward to meeting Alexander and his crew. I already know that the book is a winner because my favorite Red Headed author put it together. I definitely want a dead tree version if I win.

  6. I so LOVE/ lust after the Kitty Kat Series, so I cannot wait to get my hands on Alexander Outland! Seriously, I think that the wait is going to make me insane. :P

Leave a Reply

