Guest Post with Jillian Chantal and GIVEAWAY

Three lives intertwine—a former Green Beret, now a painter of nude portraits tormented by the death of his comrade, an earl’s daughter, and a crazed stalker. Will the acts of the stalker force the soldier back into the life of violence which he sought to avoid? 

Sebastian Hughes, wounded on a mission in Afghanistan, discovers a talent for painting nude portraits while in a rehabilitation center learning to walk again after losing part of his leg. He becomes the toast of London society and women clamor to be painted by him. 

Lady Joanna Gresham, nursing a broken heart and used to getting what she wants, sets her sights on having her portrait painted by Sebastian. Once she meets him, she wants him for herself. She pursues him, intent on winning him. What she didn’t count on was a stalker who wants to harm everyone Sebastian holds dear.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Thanks, Nikki, for having me here today to share a little about my novel, Sebastian’s Salvation. Your reviews are always well done and witty and I enjoy reading your blog so it’s an honor to be here today.

Sebastian’s Salvation is a contemporary romantic suspense based mostly in London. There are a few scenes in France at a ski resort and I thought it might be fun to share an excerpt snippet of one of those. Since the characters are eating chili, as a change from a blog post that merely shares an excerpt and since it’s still cool in some places, I thought I’d throw in my crockpot chili recipe. It’s easy and no fuss for those lazy days.

.

.

Excerpt:

Hugh waved Sebastian over to the seat next to him. “Come sit over here, Hughes. Saved you a spot.”

Sebastian took the seat and sat his tray on the table. “Thanks. Appreciate it.”

“Least I can do is save you a spot here on this end with the men. I bet you have women hanging over you all the time.” Hugh jerked his head in the direction of the other end of the table where the women sat.

Sebastian looked in the same direction. “Is that a bad thing?”

The other men at the table laughed. Sebastian crumbled crackers into his chili and dug in.

Joanna, from the opposite end of the table, yelled down to her brother, “What are you laughing about?”

“Just Sebastian’s poor life of naked women all around.”

“We’re all clothed now, Elsanor.” Joanna looked at her two friends and laughed.

Sebastian looked up from his chili. “Bet I could get any of the three of you naked in two minutes flat. All I’d need is a paintbrush in my hand.”

Victoria blushed as Joanna looked him in the eye from her end of the table. “Best watch out with the bets, Bast. You already lost one to me today.”

Sebastian raised one eyebrow. “Did I, now?”

“You know you did. I beat you down the hill best out of three runs.”

“And what did you win, Lady Joanna?”

“The right to have you paint my portrait.” Her face registered triumph.

“You mean the right to get naked in front of me?”

Joanna and her two friends both gasped.

Sebastian took a bite of his chili and once he swallowed, he looked at Hugh and asked, “See? All it takes is a paintbrush. Want me to teach you?”

.

.

 

Recipe:

• 2 pounds ground turkey or beef

• 1 cup chopped onion

• 4 large garlic cloves, chopped

• 1/2 cup green peppers, diced

• 1 cup chicken broth

• 2 teaspoon dried cumin

• 1 teaspoon dried oregano

• 1teaspoon chili powder

• 1/2 teaspoon salt

• 1 teaspoon ground black pepper

• 1 can refried beans

• 2 15 to 16oz cans of kidney beans (not drained)

In a large skillet, brown ground turkey or beef and drain. Add all ingredients to crock pot except the can of refried beans. Cover and cook on low 2 hours. Add refried beans to chili for thickening. Cover and cook on low for an additional 2 hours.

Visit me on the web here: http://jillianchantal.com/news/

twitter: https://twitter.com/JillianChantal

Book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvzMd4ttvmU

Buy link: http://www.bookstrand.com/sebastians-salvation

 

I’m giving away one e-book copy of Sebastian’s Salvation and a green beret rubber duckie to one commenter who shares their favorite cold weather meal. Thanks again, Nikki!!

20 thoughts on “Guest Post with Jillian Chantal and GIVEAWAY

  1. Sebastian’s Salvation sounds like a good romantic suspense read. It will be interesting to see if painting is a form of therapy for Sebastian.

    I like chili as a cold weather meal too. My recipe is pretty similar to yours, but the refried beans is an interesting touch. I usually leave the cover open so it boils down to thicken, I’ve also read about using corn meal.

    acm05atjuno.com

    • Anne- Cornmeal sounds like a neat addition to a chili recipe. ‘ll have to try it.

      Sebastian’s painting is indeed a form of therapy for him. Thanks for coming by and commenting.

  2. Great Chili recipe. The book is wonderful. I already have my copy For cold weather if it’s not chili, chicken and dumplings is a favorite. Thanks for sharing Sebastian and the recipe.

  3. I don’t need to be entered in the drawing. I already have my copy and the story was great. I stopped by to print the chili recipe. It looks yummy! Have fun with the blog, Jillian and Nikki!

  4. A good book and soup. I like chili, a lot, but it doesn’t like me as much. Right now I’m into Cream of Cheddar Broccoli soup. Calories like WOW but it’s sooo goood.

  5. Favorite cold weather meal? How ’bout calling out for pizza. Oh. I guess that’s my favorite ALWAYS meal, regardless of the weather. ;)
    And Sebastian sounds like such a hottie!

    • Awesome plan, Liv. I’m in for pizza anytime, too.

      Sebastian is adorable. Even if I wrote him myself. He’s based on the actor Idris Elba and that’s why he’s so yummy! Lol.

  6. Thanks for the intro to what sounds like a great read!! Another to add to my TBR pile…yay! Thanks for the tip about using refried beans to thicken chili. I’ll give that a try next time!
    My favorite cold weather meal is Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwiches. I have a super easy recipe that is my family’s favorite!
    In a crock pot, place: 2 large onions, quartered. Then place a 5-6 lb boneless pork roast (I like shoulder roast) on top of onions. (I rub the roast down with McCormick’s pork rub). Make a quick sauce with 2/3 cup cider vinegar, 4 tsp. Worcestershire Sauce,1 1/2 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp dry mustard, and 1/2 tsp garlic salt. (You can also add cayenne pepper). Pour over the roast. Cook on high 5-6 hours (low 10-12). Remove onions (I squeeze out as much liquid from them as possible, then set onions aside to put on the sandwich), shred meat in the crock pot. I pick up a container of coleslaw from our local bbq hangout to add on top of the pork when assembling the sandwiches. Super easy & always yummy! In fact, I’m making up a few batches for dinner at our local VFW Post tomorrow night.

    harlan_michelle(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • Michelle. That sounds amazing. Love some pulled pork. I cook mine all night in a 200 degree oven. Smells so good.

      I hope you enjoy Sebastian and Joanna’s story if you get a chance to read it. It was a fun one to write.

  7. Mmmmh, my favorite cold weather meal is my mothers chicken soup with vegetable and rice I think.
    Your story about Sebastian and Joanna sounds great – thanks for the excerpt

  8. Soup, or chowder!! Mmmm… Some creamy New England clam chower, or Some Chicken Noodle soup, Creamy Broccoli ..I want some now!! LOL The excerpt sounds really good I will have to check it out!!

    samanthadacier @ gmail.com

  9. Your book sounds great! Thanks for sharing it. My favorite winter meal is potato soup with cheese. Yummy! :) Thanks!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

