Guest Review: A Lady Never Surrenders by Sabrina Jeffries (The Hellions Of Halstead Hall #5)

Available: Now Amazon/B&N

Type: Historical Romance

Publisher: Pocket

My Copy: Sent 

Review By: Hollie 

Lady Celia Sharpe has always been wary of marriage….but now her future depends on it.
With two months left to find a husband and fulfill her grandmother’s ultimatum, Celia sets her sights on three eligible
bachelors. Becoming betrothed to one of these wealthy, high-ranking men will surely prove her capable of getting married,
so hopefully the wedding itself won’t be necessary for Celia to receive her inheritance. Step Two of her audacious plan
is hiring the dark and dangerously compelling Bow Street Runner Jackson Pinter to investigate the three men she’s chosen.
With Lady Celia bedeviling Jackson’s days and nights, the last thing he wants Is to help her find a husband. And when
she recalls shadowed memories that lead his investigation into her parents’ mysterious deaths in a new direction, putting
her in danger, Jackson realizes the only man he wants Celia to marry is himself.

.

.

.

.

What would you give up for true love? What would you expect your true love to give up for you?
I haven’t read the other 4 “Hellion’s of Halstead Hall” books so I went into this book without knowing the back story of it. This one starts out with memories of a young sick girl who hears things that she will someday come to think of as a dream. Things that will help with the mystery of how and why her and her siblings’ parents were taken from her and her brothers and sister. Flash forward 19 years to Lady Celia being force to find a husband who is of title and money by a Grandmother who wants all of the “Hellions” to settle into marriage. So much so that she tells them all that she will disinherit them if they do not comply within a year. A vast fortune is at stake and Lady Celia doesn’t want to let her siblings down. She has her insecurities about her self worth after a traumatic experience with a cousin who taunted her after an incident when she was 14. She settles on 3 gentlemen who have rank and title to show her grandmother that she can catch a husband and hopefully not have to marry any of them. Jackson Pinter is an investigator who her brothers have hired to find the real reason their parents were killed. He has always been attracted to Lady Celia even though he is a bastard by birth. Raised by an Aunt and Uncle, he has risen high in the ranks of his profession of the Bow Street Runners. He is then hired by Lady Celia to investigate her suitors to make sure that they are not interested only for her fortune. He agrees, but only to protect her from these men. He can’t help being drawn into her. Her kisses drive him wild and not even a threat of being shot by her drives him away.
I really liked this story. It held my interest and made me think about it when I had to go to work and not continue reading. How Lady Celia and Jackson finally come to be together even with the threat of losing all her inheritance was an “ahhhh” moment for me. Love conquers all and such! Lady Celia’s insecurities are ones that I think we all have from time to time…the “What is wrong with me” ones. Taunting from a boy that we have liked have made most of us re-evaluate the way we think about ourselves. And Jackson has his own issues. Having been told that his father wasn’t interested in him or his mother has put his whole life in a box that keeps him from having what he really wants. He has done very well for himself but he still doesn’t feel it’s enough to measure up to Lady Celia and her family.
The mystery of her parents’ death is revealed. Which for me was an aside to the love story between Lady Celia and Jackson. If I had read the other books I’m sure it would have been more to me than just a way for the two of them to spend more time together. I’m not sure if I will read the other back books to this series. There were small snippets of each of them in this book, but not enough for me to get into their characters.

Hollie gives A Lady Never Surrenders by Sabrina Jefferies 3.50 stars! 

2 thoughts on “Guest Review: A Lady Never Surrenders by Sabrina Jeffries (The Hellions Of Halstead Hall #5)

  1. Hey Hollie!

    We were reading this book at the same time and our thoughts about it are 100% in sync! I, on the other hand, have read all five books, and while the previous four were very strong, this one was not, and it was disappointing to me. Gran was portrayed too wicked by half and I wanted to knock her walking stick from under her! I did like the mystery, although I got the ‘hints’ about ‘who done it’, so it wasn’t a big surprise. All in all not so bad, but knowing who wrote this book, it should have been much better. I think the first two books were the best, and after that it got weaker and weaker…Will I read more of SJ?! You bet! It’s Sabrina FREAK-EN Jeffries! I’m interested in what will happen to Duke of Lyons next and Pierce’s story as well :)

    Great call in 3.5 stars!

    Mel

    • LOL…I am so glad that we had the same responses to this book! I am going to read the next ones as well..but I really don’t want to read the first ones of this series…It would be like back tracking…and I already know the ending. :)

Leave a Reply

