Riptide by Cherry Adair (Cutter Cay #2)

 

Available: Aug 30, 2011 Amazon/B&N

Type: Romantic Suspense

Publisher: St Martin’s Press

My Copy: Sent for review

Princess Bria Visconti demands the return of the money her brother rashly invested in Cutter Salvage. Treasure hunter Nick Cutter is too reckless, too arrogant—and far too handsome—for his own good. But he can’t charm his way out of this one. Bria plans to make Nick pay up even if she has to board his boat, don a wet suit, and dive for the treasure herself…  Nick sees Bria as a beautiful but spoiled princess who’s never done a day’s work in her pampered life. But once they set sail for the dive site, and the legendary fortune in gold the wreck carries, Nick begins to see Bria in a new light. This princess may be out of her depth, but she’s ready to take on the hidden danger and excitement a treasure hunt stirs to the surface. Together they must fight unexpected enemies—and reveal their darkest secrets—before they’re pulled into a rip current of danger.

 

Bria just wants her brothers money back after his foolish decision to bankrupt their country in a gamble for buried treasure. She may not have seen him in years but that doesn’t mean this California girl isn’t still passionate about her home country. Convincing the stone faced Nick Cutter to give the money back is proving to be a lot more then she bargained for though. He is dead set against hearing her out. Her anger management is put to the test just being in the same room with him.

Nick isn’t sure what the princess wants, regardless of what she claims. Is she a part of someones master plan or just a very bad coincidence? He isn’t sure. Until he knows he will have to keep her closer then he’d like. She is slowly cracking his stoney exterior with every snipe, quip and retort. Revealing her true nature might result in him revealing some emotions. Something he has kept under lock and key for a long time.

When an international smuggling ring focuses on Nick’s luxurious diving boat, everyone becomes a suspect. Could the fiery princess be out to lead him astray? Or ultimately lead him home.

 

Riptide was a excellent book that I couldn’t put down! I enjoyed the vivid imagery that Cherry Adair excels at with every book of hers I read. She truly makes you feel as if you are right in the middle of the action! The characters of Bria and Nick were well rounded and completely made for each other.

Bria has been through way more then she ever lets on. Her friends don’t know she is a princess of a small island off the coast of Italy. That’s how she likes it. Her parents were murdered and she was whisked away to live in hiding by her personal bodyguard. She was taught to fight as well as how to be a lady in case she ever needed to return to claim the throne.  All Nick sees however is a overly sexual, completely in charge woman that won’t take no for an answer. He himself has layers that no one ever sees because he keeps every emotion under tight lock and key. Just the sight of this woman is making his blood boil. He knows he has to get her off his boat, the sooner the better. Especially after she is attacked in her own cabin by one of his employees.

No one but he and his captain Jonah know about the smuggling of diamonds and the people that have stashed some on board his ship. Well, him and TFLAC operatives that is. Ok, and the bad guys that are posing as employees…but even Nick and Jonah don’t know WHICH employees. Now Bria shows up with her legs and flawless body and Nick has to ask himself, is this a trap?

Nick was a character I really loved. He was stoic and emotionless and downright mean at times. I love watching the evolution characters like him go through. I love watching their shells crack wide open and the revealing of their true self. Bria was just the girl for the job. She is slightly over the top and completely “in your face”. I think they meshed excellently together and complimented each others traits. She was a girl that never gave up. She wrapped her mind (and her legs in a few scenes) around something and went all in. Her dedication to a country she had virtually nothing to do with was heartwarming. Together these two were combustible. I found myself laughing through their snipes at each other. Bria being a incredibly sarcastic person gave me the opportunity to connect. I saw a lot of myself in her attitude. Ok, and her anger issues. Shhh don’t tell anyone, but I’m a total thrower when I get mad.

I wasn’t happy the other two brothers, Zane who we met in Undertow and Logan whose book is the next out, in Riptide. I felt there were several instances where their input would have been great and welcomed. Since Nick made a appearance in Undertow I was hoping for the same here. I like to be introduced ahead of time and so in that aspect I felt a bit let down. I also don’t really like middle eastern terrorist plots. I wasn’t keen on the middle eastern guys simply because I have a hard time reading about them. I don’t know if its the names (can’t pronounce for the life of me), the imagery that usually comes with them (desert, boring, plain) or if it’s just me. Since they really weren’t in it much it didn’t take away from the story for me…so I was glad. Once a book gets to much into the terrorists plot and away from the action/romance, I tend to lose interest. Obviously it’s good for the plot but some get to heavy into it when all I want is the action, thrills and romance.  I didn’t find that here even though there were a few scenes I thought lagged a bit and could have been actioned up (it’s a word I swear..ok, maybe not swear…).

TFLAC once again makes a appearance in this book, although more so then in Undertow. I love seeing characters and situations from other series pop up in new books. Its nice to revisit old characters and this gives me the perfect balance of new and old.

I really enjoy the world building, the diving aspect since I haven’t read many of those, and just the brothers themselves. Each one slightly different in how they have dealt with their fathers passing. Logan will be interesting since he was actually present when the father died and Im sure harbors a ton of guilt over that. He is gong to need a patient woman indeed.

Cherry Adair does a remarkable job of putting a reader right into the thick of the action! Riptide is a whirlwind, action packed thrill ride from the bottom of the ocean to the sandy isles of a small Italian island. Packed with twists and turns and a few surprises, Riptide will pull you under and engross your mind and imagination.

 

I give Riptide by Cherry Adair 4 stars!

 

2 thoughts on “Riptide by Cherry Adair (Cutter Cay #2)

  1. This book sounds great and would love to win. Cherry is a new author for me and am always looking for new books and authors to check out. I hope to win so that way I can find out what happens.
    Thanks for the giveaway and the chance to win.

  2. Love Cherry’s books! She has a way of sucking you right into her story world without you even knowing! Cannot wait for this one to come out!
    Thanks for a great giveaway.

Leave a Reply

