A Brush Of Darkness by Allison Pang

Available: NOW

Type: Novel (urban fantasy)

Publisher: Pocket

My Copy: Library b/c I couldn’t find it in the stores (GRRR) I will buy a copy though I’m sure!

The man of her dreams might be the cause of her nightmares.

Six months ago, Abby Sinclair was struggling to pick up the pieces of her shattered life. Now, she has an enchanted iPod, a miniature unicorn living in her underwear drawer, and a magical marketplace to manage. But despite her growing knowledge of the OtherWorld, Abby isn’t at all prepared for Brystion, the dark, mysterious, and sexy-as- sin incubus searching for his sister, convinced Abby has the key to the succubus’s whereabouts. Abby has enough problems without having this seductive shape-shifter literally invade her dreams to get information. But when her Faery boss and some of her friends vanish, as well, Abby and Brystion must form an uneasy alliance. As she is sucked deeper and deeper into this perilous world of faeries, angels, and daemons, Abby realizes her life is in as much danger as her heart—and there’s no one she can trust to save her.


This book was made of all kinds of awesomeness! The world building was phenomenal and completely drew me in from the first sentence to the last.  I am a new reader of urban fantasy type books and Allison has sold me. The only thing I am bummed about is that fact that I have to wait a year or so until the release of the next one.

A Brush Of Darkness takes a mere mortal, Abby, and throws her headfirst into a situation that she didn’t quite understand when she agreed to it. She is a touchstone. A liaison if you will between worlds. Abby functions as an easier way for the Other Folk to cross between worlds. In doing so you must give yourself freely to your Contract (the person you connect with) and sign an agreement for a specific amount of time. Each agreement comes with its own stipulations depending on the holder. Abby is running from her past so the idea of throwing it away for a while is extremely appealing.

Abby’s current Contract is high-ranking Fae, Moria, and she has disappeared seemingly into thin air. Leaving Abby to fend for herself in a world she is only beginning to understand. When sexy succubus, Brystion turns on the charm in order to find his missing sister who has also vanished,  Abby isn’t sure who to trust. Brystion is extremely good at warming her nights (and dreams) but he seems to become a different person in the day, the shields go back up. Brystion has his own agenda and falling for the snarky Touchstone certainly isn’t on it.

Add some quirky friends, a pissed off angel and a horny miniature talking unicorn and you have a story that you won’t put down and you won’t soon forget.

 

I loved Abby from the first page. Her snarkiness was so spot on I found myself laughing through most of the book. Her quick tongue gets her in trouble, sure, but it’s just so funny…and so totally ME. Brystion was smokin hot as I expect all my succubi to be. I mean they ARE sex demons…they better be hot. I loved his dark attitude and comebacks almost as much as I loved Abby. I also loved his quick flashes of tenderness and vulnerability…definitely dream fodder for me.

Allison’s world building was intricate and complete and I enjoyed every twist and turn. The interdimensional crossroads may not be a new idea but Allison managed to change it up a bit and make it her own. I loved the dreaming aspect and the ability (or non ability) Abby had to control them. I felt for Abby having to see her mother die and the guilt she felt over the traumatic experience. I also foresee something tying in with her coma in future books. Maybe the drawn out coma is what makes her different from other Touchstones? More powerful?

The secondary characters totally round out the trifecta of awesomeness. I mean a talking mini unicorn? And one that likes to hump legs and nuzzle undies? WHAT?! Phineas is about the greatest character ever written. If the book were only about him I would read it. He cracked me up. What little girl doesn’t want a unicorn for a pet? But when you grow up and find out that unicorn is a sex fiend that likes World Of Warcraft and Hello Kitty bikini undies…what do you do with that? You Laugh.

I won’t lie…the ending kinda had me sputtering…”but but but..no it can’t end there…no no no” but I have faith in Allison for the next installment.

A Brush Of Darkness is a gritty and dark urban fantasy dream with enough shots of snarkiness to have you bouncing off the walls with laughter. I am so glad I finally got to read this gem…it was worth the wait! You, yes you,  need to pick up this book. Cast off your urban fantasy qualms and hang on because Allison is about to knock your socks off!

I give A Brush Of Darkness by Allison Pang 5 stars!

4 thoughts on “A Brush Of Darkness by Allison Pang

  1. Pingback: A Sliver Of Shadow by Allison Pang (Abby Sinclair #2) « Ramblings From a Chaotic Mind

Leave a Reply

